Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is a group of people who meet a set of General Criteria for membership and are elected to the Board by our shareholders each year. We currently have 13 Board members, 12 of whom are "independent" under the rules of the New York Stock Exchange.

Our Board holds the ultimate authority of our Company, except to the extent that shareholders are granted certain powers under the Company's Certificate of Incorporation and By-Laws.

The Board:

  • Appoints senior management of the Company, who are responsible for conducting business and operations,
  • Provides oversight of management, and
  • Forms standing Board Committees to assist in fulfilling its obligations.

Our Management Team meets throughout each year with our Board members to discuss strategic direction and major developments of the Company's various businesses.

Our Directors are:

Alex Gorsky
Chairman, Board of Directors; Chief Executive Officer; Chairman, Executive Committee, Johnson & Johnson
Mary Sue Coleman
President Emerita, University of Michigan
James G. Cullen
Retired President and Chief Operating Officer, Bell Atlantic Corporation
D. Scott Davis
Chairman and Former Chief Executive Officer, United Parcel Service, Inc.
Ian E. L. Davis
Chairman, Rolls-Royce Holdings plc; Former Chairman and Worldwide Managing Director, McKinsey & Company
Susan L. Lindquist
Member and Former Director, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research; Professor of Biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Mark B. McClellan
Senior Fellow in Economic Studies and Director of the Initiative on Value and Innovation in Health Care, Brookings Institution
Anne M. Mulcahy
Former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Xerox Corporation
Leo F. Mullin
Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Delta Air Lines, Inc.
William D. Perez
Senior Advisor, Greenhill & Co., Inc.; Retired President and Chief Executive Officer, Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company
Charles Prince
Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Citigroup Inc.
A. Eugene Washington
Vice Chancellor of Health Sciences, Dean of the David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA); Chief Executive Officer of the UCLA Health System
Ronald A. Williams
Former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Aetna Inc.

Find out more about:

Director Nomination Process
Strategic Planning Process
Communication with the Board
Board Committees
Our Management Team